Back from Under a Rock

I’ve restarted this blog as I mean to stick through it during school, even if it’s just to keep track of what topics I’ve covered, but I also want to put something out there about the experience in changing my career, so I really do have to keep this up.

A lot has happened since I last wrote, I’ve been sick twice (still getting over the second time).  I also got accepted into the Immersive Web Dev program at Flatiron School (yay!), and I’m going to go even more in debt ):.  That last part really can’t be helped as the course is $15,000 and I don’t have that kind of money stuffed in a mattress.  However, we will put the money on some credit cards and pay it off as the we have 0% introductory APRs on a couple of credit cards, and we may also end up taking a personal loan.  My better half and soulmate is supporting me through my career transition, so I’m very lucky in that regard.  I will have to bow out of the Learn Verified program and see about applying my deposit from there towards the Immersive program instead.

With regards to my school, I had to reschedule my interview once as I was still sick the first time around and had developed a rather large cold sore on my mouth.  By the time the interview came around, it had shrunk and was at least scabby and in better shape than the week before.  I thought I did terribly on my interview.  I was asked a few questions, knew I screwed up a bit on my code and suddenly the interview was over.  I got pretty upset as I spent the morning reviewing all of my labs and I felt I did the best that I could, and somehow still the interview went badly.  The interviewer said that I should receive a response by early next week (the interview took place on a Wednesday).  On Thursday of the same week, I got accepted.  I was so grateful that I didn’t have to worry for several more days and could just concentrate on completing the pre-work and practicing coding.

I start my class in September as I was going away for a few days in August and I didn’t want to fall too far behind.  Until then, I’m going to go through some additional online resources to keep practicing and maybe see if I can get into some app dev work as well.

Online coding resources:

 

Leave a comment